2nd & 3rd June: AF Harrold at Children’s Arts Festival

June 2nd & 3rd: Children’s author & performer AF Harrold presents his latest literary creations and potty poetry at the Children’s Arts Festival– bring your imagination and find out what fun words can be. Suitable for ages 6+

Saturday 2nd: 12-1pm

Greta Zargo doesn’t know it, but once again she is about to unwittingly and unknowingly save the world … Intrepid young schoolgirl-turned-reporter Greta Zargo is always in search of a Big Scoop and for once there are plenty of strange goings-on in the usually quiet little town of Upper Lowerbridge. Not only has Aunt Tabitha, the great inventor, gone missing, but weird, wobbling, blob-like monsters are appearing via a very deep hole in Greta’s garden – and they are slowing but surely devouring her neighbours one by one …

A laugh-out-loud funny new series from the author of the critically acclaimed The Imaginary, perfect for fans of Mr Gum, Chris Riddell, and Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre’s Oliver and the Seawigs

The author and poet will be presents his latest series Greta Zargo, which stars a schoolgirl turned detective. He might also talk about the fabulous will also talk about the Fizzlebert Stump series, The Imaginary and The Song from Somewhere Else. Bring your imagination and find out what fun words can be.

Sunday 3rd:  12-12:30

Things You Find in a Poet’s Beard: Silly & Peculiar poems with AF Harrold

Children’s author and poet, AF Harrold, (who has a very big beard) will be performing his poetry (and probably leaping around a bit) which can be silly, serious or just peculiar.

Things You Find in a Poet’s Beard is a collection of poems that have been shouted at children at schools, bookshops and festivals across the country. Perhaps you’ll want to annoy your family by reading them out; perhaps you’ll want to chuckle at them under the covers with a torch; perhaps you’ll want to stare at the drawings drawn by Mr Chris Riddell; or maybe you’ll want to stand up and shout them in assembly to capture the spirit of A.F. Harrold himself.

Books will be available to be signed and bought at this event. (Printed using Dyslexie font – the typeface for readers with dyslexia.)

Tickets for the Children’s Arts Festival can be bought on-line here, or from the bookshop (In advance: £12 per day, or £16 weekend pass. On the door £13 per day).

The Children’s Arts Festival will be held at the Croft Hall, Activity Centre & Croft Field. Turn-up at the ticket entrance to be directed.

For the Children’s Arts Festival full line-up (which includes theatre, storytelling, dance, drumming, art workshops, and a writing adventure please go to their website)